Visit our Facebook See our Twitter
Visit our Facebook
See our Twitter
See our Twitter

  • Local Laws

    Local Laws

    DWI


    No person shall operate a motor vehicle in an intoxicated condition by use of alcohol or drugs. It is unlawful to refuse to submit to a sobriety screening test.

     

    SNOW ORDINANCE


    No vehicle shall be parked, standing or unattended on a public street or highway within the city of Oneonta during a snowstorm or a precipitation of snow on and one-half inches or more, and continuing to such time as the snow is plowed from the streets.

     

    DISORDERLY CONDUCT


    A person is guilty of disorderly conduct when, in a public place he engages in fighting, makes unreasonable noise, uses abusive or obscene language, makes an obscene gesture, obstructs traffic, refuses to comply with a lawful order of police to disperse or creates a hazardous or physically offensive condition by any act that serves no legitimate purpose.

     

    OPEN CONTAINER


    No person shall drink from or possess an open container of alcoholic beverage in a public place.

     

    NOISE ORDINANCE


    It shall be unlawful for anyone to make, cause to be made or allow any other person to make any loud, unnecessary or unusual noise. This section includes, but is not limited to loud noises, musical instruments, TVs, radios, stereos or other sound producing or reproducing equipment.

     

    SNOW AND ICE REMOVAL


    It shall be the duty of the owner and occupant of each and every parcel of real estate in the City, abutting or bordering upon any street, or any other public place, to remove all snow and ice from the sidewalk, before 9AM

     

    FAIR HOUSING


    It is illegal to discriminate against any person because of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, familial status, or national origin in the sale, lease or rental of housing, with the following exceptions:

    Rental in a two family, owner-occupied dwelling

    Rental in an accommodation restricted to members of the same sex

    Rental of a room in an accommodation if the owner or a member of his family resides there

    An accommodation in a religious or charitable institution

    The City of Oneonta is prepared to assist persons who feel they have suffered a discriminatory housing practice. The City’s Fair Housing Office is prepared to receive complaints and either investigate or relay pertinent facts to the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Office of Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity and the State’s Human Rights Commission.

    If you feel you have been discriminated against in housing, contact the City’s Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity Enforcement Officer at (607) 432-0114.

    Voting Ward Map
    Voting map of Oneonta, NY
    Government Offices
    Assessor (contracted)
    Richard Maxwell
    432-2397
    City Hall
    258 Main St
    rmaxwell@oneonta.ny.us
    City Court Judges
    Hon. Lucy P. Bernier
    Hon. Richard W. McVinney
    432-4480
    Public Safety Building
    81 Main St.
    Library Director
    Tina Winstead
    432-1980
    Huntington Memorial Library
    62 Chestnut St
    on.tinaw@4cls.org
    Attorney
    David Merzig
    432-4242
    Central Garage
    Charlie Effner
    432-4620
    Silas Lane
    ceffner@oneonta.ny.us
    Oneonta Public Transit
    David Hotaling
    432-7100
    104 Main St
    ppatterson@oneonta.ny.us
    City Clerk
    Nancy Powell
    432-6450
    City Hall
    258 Main St
    npowell@oneonta.ny.us
    Personnel
    Katie Bottger
    432-0670
    City Hall
    258 Main St.
    kbottger@oneonta.ny.us
    City Court
    Catherine Tisenchek
    432-4480
    Public Safety Building
    81 Main St.
    ctisench@courts.state.ny.us
    City Manager 
    George Korthauer
    432-6450
    City Hall
    258 Main St.
    Police Chief
    Doug Brenner
    432-1111
    81 Main St
    dbrenner@oneonta.ny.us
    Code Enforcement
    Stephen Yerly
    433-3435
    City Hall
    258 Main St
    syerly@oneonta.ny.us
    Community Development
    Judy Pangman
    432-6450
    City Hall
    258 Main St
    jpangman@oneonta.ny.us
    Parks & Recreation
    Louise Lansing
    432-0680
    Brenner Recreation Center
    24 Bertus Lauren Drive
    llansing@oneonta.ny.us
    Engineering
    Gregory Mattice
    432-6465
    City Hall
    258 Main St.
    gmattice@oneonta.ny.us
    Public Service
    Larry Harrison
    432-2100
    City Hall
    258 Main St
    lharrison@oneonta.ny.us
    Finance
    Meg Hungerford
    432-0560
    258 Main St.
    mhungerford@oneonta.ny.us
    Water Treatment
    Stanley Shaffer
    433-3470
    110 East St
    sshaffer@oneonta.ny.us
    Wastewater Treatment
    Steve Kruh
    432-7210
    11 Silas Lane
    skruh@oneonta.ny.us
    Fire Chief
    Patrick Pidgeon
    431-1363
    81 Main St.
    ppidgeon@oneonta.ny.us
    Historian
    Mark Simonson
    432-3902
    13 Taft Ave.
    info@oneontahistorian.com
    Our Legislators

    City

    Mayor

    Gary Herzig
    432-6450
    mayor@oneonta.ny.us

    1st Ward
    Michele Frazier
    435-8879
    mfrazier@oneonta.ny.us
    2nd Ward
    Melissa Nicosia
    433-2132
    mnicosia@oneonta.ny.us
    3rd Ward
    David Rissberger
    432-3528
    drissberger@oneonta.ny.us
    4th Ward
    Michelle Osterhoudt
    432-0324
    mosterhoudt@oneonta.ny.us
    5th Ward
    Dana Marie Levinson
    267-4404
    dlevinson@oneonta.ny.us
    6th Ward
    Russ Southard
    432-7015
    rsouthard@oneonta.ny.us
    7th Ward
    John Rafter
    435-0612
    jrafter@oneonta.ny.us
    8th Ward
    Joseph Ficano
    287-3254
    jficano@oneonta.ny.us

    Town

    Supervisor
    Robert Wood
    432-2900

    Town Board
    Randall Mowers
    Brett Holleran
    Patricia Jacob
    Patricia Riddell Kent
    Clerk / Tax Collector
    Cheryl Shackleton
    432-2900
    Court Assessor
    Richard Maxwell
    432-2970
    Code Enforcement
    Paul Neske
    432-8606
    Highway, Water & Sewer
    James Hurtubise
    432-2807
    Planning Board
    Joseph Camarata
    432-0806

    Otsego County

    Board of Representatives

    District 4
    Andrew Stammel
    222-1519
    Stammela@otsegocounty.com

    District 11
    Gary Koutnik
    435-1783
    kountnikg@otsegocounty.com

    District 12 
    Adrienne Martini
    437-4740
    martinia@otsegocounty.com

    District 13 
    Danny Lapin
    353-7767
    lapind@otsegocounty.com

    District 14 
    Lizabeth Shannon
    shannonl@otsegocounty.com

    Useful Websites
    City of Oneonta: www.oneonta.ny.us
    Town of Oneonta: www.townofoneonta.org
    Destination Oneonta: www.destinationoneonta.com